Tags

I call this Grilled Cheese sandwich Cheat Day Grilled Cheese due to the high fat content (cheese and avocado) and the carb component (bread).  On the positive side, there is tomato (veggie) and protein (cheese).  It’s definitely a yummy treat.  Any cheese or bread can be substituted for what is used in the recipe.

Grilled Cheese For Grownups Sandwich

  • 2 slices of french bread (sourdough would be good too!)
  • 3 slices monterey jack cheese (I sliced mine fairly thick! the cheesier, the better!)
  • 1 ripe avocado – pitted and sliced
  • tomato
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • butter

Spread some butter on all 4 slices of bread. Take two slices and divide the cheese and avocado evenly between the two top with the other two slices buttered side out.

Heat a skillet, place on side of the sandwich down and toast the bread for 2-3 minutes on low to medium heat until the bread is browned. CAREFULLY flip the sandwich (I use two spatulas to do this because avocado slices can be slippery little devils!) and cook for another 2-3 minutes until browned.

Serve warm. (Tomato soup would be an excellent accompaniment!)

I learned this technique for taking the pit out of the avocado 
by watching The Food Network. 🙂 

Gently tap the pit with a knife with enough force so that the knife edge wedges into the pit, 
With the edge of the knife, twist the pit out of the avocado and discard.
Take care not to cut yourself when doing this! Since I’m a fairly accident-prone person,
I do this with the avocado laying on the cutting board instead of holding it in my hand.
I like to salt and pepper each layer of the sandwich. I learned that from The Food Network too.
(not really. I just like salt and pepper!)
Pile on the avocado slices baby!
I like to cook mine fairly low and slow…less chance of burning them! 
Which at this point would be a shame!
Ahhh….perfect golden brown color! Success!
